

HEPHAESTUS 2ND INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE

International Conference on Critical Education 12-16 July 2011, Athens, Greece Second Announcement

Co-organised by the Department of Education of the University of Athens, the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology Programme of the Institute for Neohellenic Research of the National Hellenic Research Foundation, and the Journals of: Critical Education Policy (UK), Cultural Logic (USA/Canada), Kritiki (Greece), Radical Notes (India). Sponsored by the Project Hephaestus (FP7, RegPot1-2008).

Conference Organizing Committee Coordinators: Dave Hill (Middlesex University, UK) Peter McLaren (UCLA, USA) Kostas Skordoulis (University of Athens, Greece)

Keynote Speakers:

Peter McLaren (UCLA, USA), Amrohini Sahay (Hofstra University, New York, USA), Dave Hill (Middlesex University, UK), Aristides Baltas (National Technical University of Athens), Gabor Pallo (Academy of Sciences, Hungary), Ravi Kumar (Jamia Milia Islamia University, Delhi, India), John Preston (University of East London, England), Lazaros Apekis (National Technical University of Athens), Chrysoula Papageorgiou (Secondary education).

Confirmed Participants (as on 6th Dec 2010)

Fayaz Ahmad (JMI Central University, Delhi, India), Dennis Beach and Anna-Carin Johnsson (University of Boras, Sweden), Sarah Carpenter and Shahrzad Mojab (Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto, Canada), Namita Chakrabarty (University of East London, England), Domingos Leite Lima Filho (Federal Technological University of Paraná -UTFPR, Brazil), Morgan Gardner (Memorial University, Faculty of Education, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada), Sara Hauftman (Achva Academic College of Education, Israel), Steven Hales, (University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada), Petar Jandric (Polytechnic Graduate School in Zagreb, Croatia), Nathalia Jaramillo (Purdue University, USA), Anastasia Liasidou (European University of Cyprus), Vicki Macris (University of Alberta, Canada), Alpesh Maisuria (Anglia Ruskin University, Chelmsford, England), Spyros Themelis (Middlesex University, London, England), Periklis Pavlidis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece), Peter Perikles Trifonas (Ontario Institute of Studies in Education, University of Toronto, Canada), Nosheen Rachel-Naseem (Middlesex University, London, England), Debbie

Toope (Memorial University, Faculty of Education, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada), Paul Welsh (ChristChurch Canterbury University, England), Sara Zamir (Ben-Gurion University, Eilat, Israel)

Important Dates

Participants should submit an abstract of 300 words by: 15 January 2011.

Proposals (500 words) for Panel and Round Table Discussions are welcome.

Notification of acceptance of paper presentation by: 15 February 2011.

Full papers should be submitted by: 30 May 2011.

The papers will be peer reviewed and published in the Conference Proceedings.

Selected papers will be published in Special Issues of *Jceps, Cultural Logic* and *Kritiki*.

Abstracts should be sent by email to the following addresses:

DAVE HILL: dave.hill35@btopenworld.com

KOSTAS SKORDOULIS: kostas4skordoulis@gmail.com

Conference Fee

The Conference fee is 300 Euros.

The Conference fee for participants from Eastern Europe and for full-time PhD students from all countries, is 100 Euros. The Conference fee for participants from Greece and all those in hardship is 50 Euros. The participation of unemployed and needed colleagues is free upon request.

The fee covers participation in the conference, the book of abstracts, coffee/tea/refreshments during conference breaks and participation in the conference dinner in a traditional taverna.

Please could fees be paid directly into the following bank account:

NATIONAL BANK OF GREECE

Account holders: Katsiampoura Ioanna and Psomiadis Ploutarchos

Account Number: 719/703258-75

IBAN: GR4401107190000071970325875

SWIFT Code (BIC): ETHNGRAA

Venue and Accommodation

The venue of the Conference is the city of Athens.

Part of the Conference may take place in an area out of Athens.

Local Organizing Committee

Kostas Skordoulis, Efthymios Nicolaidis, Efthymis Papademetriou, Yiannis Maistros, Alekos Koutsouris, Spyros Sakellaropoulos, Themis Bokaris, Gianna Katsiampoura, Spyros Themelis, Theodoros Alexiou, Ploutarchos Psomiadis, Kostas Tampakis, Maria Darmou, Yiannis Bitsakis, Laokratia Lakka, Alexandra Lekka, Telis Gkiolmas, Vaggelis Koutalis, Ioanna Stavrou, Kostas Exarchakos, Ilias Boikos

Site of the Conference: http://www.hpdst.gr/events/conferences/critical-education